Take Action Publications Press Room About Public Citizen Public Citizen Divisions Home
Promoting democracy by challenging corporate globalization

JOIN US! |Take Action | Publications | About Trade Watch | Contact Us
Email Signup

Fair Trade Archive: GTW E-Newsletters, Action Alerts, and Updates

Sign up for our free activist updates.


For Keyword(s)
advanced search

Caribbean Basin Initiative

The Caribbean Basin Initiative is not a trade agreement. Rather, it is a non-reciprocal grant, by statute of a cold war “anti-communism” commercial program which was extended in 1999 through the “CBI NAFTA parity” Act, providing special duty-free access to the U.S. market for textiles, apparel and other goods made in the 24-country CBI region. The CBI region includes the Central American countries of Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama, as well as the following Caribbean island nations: Antigua, Aruba, the Bahamas, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago.

In 1982, President Ronald Reagan created the program as a perk for nations which sided with the U.S. in Cold War politics and demonstrated commitment to “free market” principles. Because the 1994 NAFTA gave Mexico access to the U.S. market on terms yet more favorable than CBI, after NAFTA’s passage a U.S. business coalition led by clothing manufacturers who had relocated to Haiti and Guatemala to avoid unions and pay rock-bottom wages demanded parity to NAFTA for their imports from CBI countries. To qualify for the CBI program and obtain duty-free access to the U.S. market, countries are reviewed on several criteria, including basic compliance with some labor rights established by the ­International Labor Organization.

Given CBI’s grant of non-reciprocal, favorable market access, many Caribbean countries were not enthused about the 1994 proposal to expand NAFTA throughout the hemisphere. The proposed Free Trade Area of the Americas would require all signatories to adopt a package of one-size-fits-all policies based on NAFTA and grant reciprocal access for the U.S. and 32 other countries to the signatory countries’ market, a requirement many small island nations fear would wreak havoc on their local economies.


    » trade | issues | cbi

Because Public Citizen does not accept funds from corporations, professional associations or government agencies, we can remain independent and follow the truth wherever it may lead. But that means we depend on the generosity of concerned citizens like you for the resources to fight on behalf of the public interest. If you would like to help us in our fight, click here.


Join | Contact PC | Contribute | Site Map | Careers/Internships| Privacy Statement